• Nusaybah's Avatar Topic Author
  • Asghar Boarder
  • Asghar Boarder
More
11 years 4 months ago #350 by Nusaybah
Tips for Taking Notes was created by Nusaybah
Tips for Taking Notes

Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa baraaktuh,

I wanted to share some note-taking tips I have from a long time of struggling to take good notes during lectures. I’m no expert of course, but I hope you can learn from some of my old mistakes.

There are two main things you want to aim for in taking good notes:

1.That you write down as many beneficial points you can get from the lecture
2.That you write them down accurately and without mistakes

Tip 1-Use Many Understandable Abbreviations

Use many abbreviations for common words to shorten what you write while still retaining meaning (such as w/ for with, b/c for because etc.) There are also ones you can make up for Islamic terms that you can change afterwards into their proper words. Just make sure the ones you use you can understand. Here are a few examples of ones I use during this course:

Buk-Sahih al-Bukhari Ha-ḥadīth
Mus-Sahih al-Muslim Ay-Ayah
AD-Abū Dāwūd Q and S-Qur’aan and Sunnah

Also for ayaat or aḥadīth you can easily find after class with the correct wording used by the speaker, or you have the book for, just reference them in your notes and insert them in afterwards.

Tip 2-Some Things You Should Write Word-for-Word

When ayaat, aḥadīth, companions or scholars are being quoted from (that you don’t have with you in handouts/ books) it’s important to get everything word for word since translations are delicate in capturing the meaning in Arabic. These are not good times to paraphrase or sum up what was said in your own words. Also take extra care in transliterating Arabic words that the speaker gives definitions for.