Topic-icon Translating troid.ca Content

• Alee Al-Albaanee
  • Alee Al-Albaanee's Avatar Topic Author
  • Jadīd Boarder
  • Jadīd Boarder
More
4 years 5 months ago #2532 by Alee Al-Albaanee
Translating troid.ca Content was created by Alee Al-Albaanee
I am a Salafī resident in Italy and I know both Italian and English and now I am studying in a high school of linguistics (first year) (languages: English, French and German) and as such I am mastering English. Can I translate Islamic articles, treatises and books from English to Italian? Can you summarise some essential qualities a Salafi translator must have and offer some pieces of advise in this regard? When is an individual qualified to translate and what are requirements? May Allah bless you!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 4 months ago - 4 years 4 months ago #2544 by troid.org admin
Replied by troid.org admin on topic Translating troid.ca Content
Jazāk Allāhu khayran, this is a question oft asked. For that reason, we will make a forum response for future references. Over the years, we have received many enquiries regarding translation. Many people are fluent in a Latin-based languages in addition to English and wish to translate articles or audios on troid.ca. Many years ago, we directed this frequently received enquiry to the noble scholar of al-Madīnah, Shaykh 'Ubayd al-Jābirī, who informed us that a translator must:

1. Be fluent in Arabic (assuming the source language is Arabic)
2. Be fluent in the conveyed language (i.e. English, French etc.)
3. Have fiqh (meaning that he/she is a student of knowledge who understands the context of sharī'ah terminology and its implications and historical usage etc.)

These were the conditions explained by Shaykh 'Ubayd, may Allāh preserve him.

This guidance was sought approximately 10 years ago, due to our shortcomings, we did not publish it (as it was a one-off question, not a QA session or lecture, also it was not recorded).